Welcome to the website of Jonathan Rutherford – Composer

“The (classical accordion) concerto is tremendous fun – very exciting – I’ve never heard anything quite like it” (Sally Beamish)

“An exceptionally fine ear

(Sir Peter Maxwell Davies)                              

“I find the Symphony (no.1) most admirable”

(Sir Charles Mackerras)


Jonathan was one of the first 15 pupils at the Yehudi Menuhin School. He was born in Churt, near Farnham, Surrey. He has lived in Suffolk since 1998.

(An Intake of Breath)… A brilliant addition to the repertoire for the musical saw, written for leading exponent (Harriet LongmanScottish Music Information Centre)

Your playing set a tone and quality which moved us all and pervaded the entire atmosphere thereafter. Your friendliness, wit and bonhommie and its influence on all of us are all of them one of the reasons why the weekend was, I think, so special for so many.

Nico Lethbridge

Founder of Queille Festival

Jonathan’s life is devoted to composing. Though he is a well-admired pianist he is first and foremost a composer. He studied at the Yehudi Menuhin School, and he studied composition with Lennox Berkeley. Although he has met many teachers, including Nadia Boulanger, Peter Maxwell Davies, Harrison Birtwistle, Richard Rodney Bennett, and even Benjamin Britten, as a composer it may be said that he is self-taught unless one counts Mozart and Beethoven amongst his mentors!

His piece for Musical Saw, Violin and Soprano “An Intake of Breath” has been loved wherever it has been heard, and so has the popular “Rejoice! Rejoice!” “Final Parting” has affected people deeply. In fact, the potential popularity of the greater part of Jonathan Rutherford’s music is vast.

His music has been performed by Patricia Routledge, Colin Baker, Johnny Morris, Harriet Longman, Jennifer Thorn, Heidi Pegler, Susanna Wilson, The Eye Bach Choir, Amici, Stowmarket Chorale, The Prometheus Orchestra, Jubilate and the Orford Choir, and the Philharmonia Orchestra.

Please see “Biography” for a fuller description of the life, or see “Selected Compositions” to read about or listen to a variety of pieces.